Recently, I was at a meeting for work about the Virginia Values Vets initiative at the Virginia War Memorial in Richmond, VA, and one of the guys in the meeting was a Vietnam Prisoner of War, Mr. Paul Galanti. He was a Naval Aviator of an A-4 Skyhawk that was shot down June 17, 1966. He suffered privation and torture as a prisoner of war for the next 6 ½ years in North Vietnam’s notorious “Hanoi Hilton.” I can not even imagine what he went through or even what his wife, Phyllis felt during that time! She was working very hard to gather 750,000 letters from Virginian to petition the release of POWs in Vietnam, and even hand delivered the letters to the North Vietnamese Embassy in Stockholm! What-a-woman!

He’s really an amazing man. He’s received so many awards: two Purple Hearts, the Silver Star, the Bronze Star, the Navy Commendation, two Legions of Merit, the Meritorious Service Medal, and nine Air Medals. He’s such a kind man too! It was my first time meeting him (my husband has met him on other occasions) and he came right over to me to introduce himself. 🙂

So in our meeting something he said, really stuck out:  “It’s always a good day when you can see a knob on the door”.  Makes me think, sometimes when I’m having a crap day, it could always be worse.  I know there’s tons of other similar sayings, but this is one that just made me stop and think for a minute, and appreciate all that we have.

Ya’ll have a good GREAT day!

XOXO-