Ladies and gents, we have a problem!

There’s a helium shortage!

Helium is the second most abundant element in the universe, but it’s also extremely rare on Earth. It’s found underground with natural gas.  It’s not only used for our beloved balloons, but used to make flat screen TVs, semi-conductors and optical fiber, and it cools the magnets in MRI machines.

Back in 1996, the Helium Privatization Act  a law enacted that required the government to sell off the stockpile of helium by 2015.  It’s a natural resource and a slow one at it.

I don’t know much more about this shortage, but just from what I’ve read, but how sad would it be to not have any more balloons? Or even worse, no more MRIs when it’s needed?

This video makes me happy: it’s a real life UP! remake! 🙂

So, I’m not buying any balloons for the rest of the year! I can do without them, in hopes of reserving some for more important purposes.  Here’s hoping we don’t run out of helium!

XOXO-