Tags

, , , , , , ,

For my birthday, I finally did what I’ve been wanting to do for a long time…

I donated my hair to a good cause: Pantene’s Beautiful Lengths.

I donated 14 inches!

Beautiful Lengths is a program that Pantene created in partnership with the American Cancer Society.  They provide FREE real hair wigs to women fighting the battle against cancer.  You may ask, why Beautiful Lengths, and not Locks of Love? Because, in my research, there’s been quite a few blogs, posts, articles that say that Locks of Love sells their wigs. 😦 No bueno. Pantene’s Beautiful Lengths provides them for free.

Here is the before picture! See the arrow? That’s how long my hair was!  I think this was the longest it’s been in as long as I can remember.  I’ve been growing my hair out for over a year… It was hard, because I love my hair short.  There ware so many times I wanted to chop it off, or trim it to a shorter length.  I used to like coloring it and having fun with it, putting highlights in, and dying it different colors. Every time I thought about  doing something with my hair, I kept thinking about those who didn’t have hair, and couldn’t even have this dilemma.

I lost my aunt to breast cancer in 2001, my friend Jill fought breast cancer at 26 (3rd generation survivor), a family friend also fought cancer just recently, one of my “moms” lost the battle with lung cancer in 2007, and my father-in-law had throat cancer and has been cleared for a few years now.

Everyone has their stories of people they know who had cancer, currently battling cancer, or courageously fought cancer till the end… I know I can’t personally find a cure to cancer, but I try to do what I can to help in the fight, including donating money, or helping to raise money.

If you can help at all, my sorority, as well as my entire school, is participating in the Relay for Life. We are doing a big fundraising push starting today, Tuesday February 28, 2012 at midnight, so all day Tuesday, donations are going towards this push. We are competing with all the local colleges to see who can raise the most in one day. The challenge runs from now through February 29 at midnight, and the goal is for all collegiate Relay For Life events in GA, SC, NC, VA, WV, DC, MD and DE to collectively raise $212,000 in two days. That breaks down to only $22.32 per person.  Together we can make a BIG difference!

Please consider helping out with a donation.  Even if 10 people donate $10.00, that’s $100 dollars raised! Any amount helps!  Visit my relay page: to donate today!

Thanks so much!!!

XOXO-

Vy