Tags

, , ,

 

My sorority and I are participating in the American Cancer Society’s Relay for Life at ODU.   This is an overnight event where we have someone from our team walking the path from 7PM to 7AM.

Why do I participate?

Because Cancer sucks!

I’ve lost friends and family to cancer. My aunt passed away in 2001 from breast cancer, someone special to me passed in 2007 from lung cancer. My father in law had throat cancer, but thankfully recovered, my girlfriend from middle school had breast cancer at 26 (she is a 3rd generation cancer survivor)…. the list goes on.. and this is only with people I know! I’m partiticipating to help raise funds for cancer research with hopes that one day, we’ll find a cure.

I want to make a meaningful difference in the fight against cancer.

Almost everyone has been touched by cancer, either through their own personal battle or through someone they love.

Every day, the American Cancer Society is helping us stay well by preventing cancer or finding it at its earliest, most treatable stages. They assist families in finding the best resources to help their friend or loved one deal with a diagnosis and their journey to get well. The American Cancer Society is also rallying communities (like ours!) through events like Relay For Life, to fight back and find cures for this disease.

If you’re in the local Hampton Roads area, please join my team or make a donation to help the American Cancer Society create a world with less cancer and more birthdays. Together, we can help make sure that cancer never steals another year of anyone’s life! Every dollar counts. If 10 people donate $10, that’s 100 dollars!  If not for the tax deduction, then because you are helping contribute money to a cause that seeks to find a cure.  Even if you can’t donate right now, please let others know, forward this link to them, and maybe they can help.

You can also honor a loved one with a luminaria. I always light one for my Aunt Connie and Annette. A luminaria is a lighting ceremony that we have, kind of like a candlelight vigil.  It can be to honor who has survived or is battling cancer, or for someone who has lost the battle with cancer. It’s $10 for a white luminaria, and $25 for a gold one. I can take a picture for you, if you’re not local. More info regarding the luminaria can be found here.

We are also doing an online auction to help raise money! Please check it out, there haven’t been many bidders yet, so you might have a really good chance at winning what ever you’re bidding on!! We even have a $100 Silpada Gift Certificate up for grabs as well as some candle items, jewelry, and even a couple things for the men! The auction ends February 24th at 11 PM.

If you’re a business owner or would like to donate something to the auction, please let me know!

Our Auction site: www.dslauction.com

You can join the team or Donate here: My personal Page

So, there’s lots of way you can help out, I hope you can!!!

Thank you.

XOXO-