I’m definitely feeling a lil Wicked!! Work’s been crazy and hectic! And not a lot of fun lately. But my feeling Wicked could be because I’m listening to one of my favorite Broadway shows- Wicked-  as I’m writing this! I must say this Friday Favorites is just so much fun. 🙂  I have always been a fan of the Wizard of Oz. Something about Judy Garland and her sparkly ruby red slippers… I’d always wanted a pair of those special ruby red slippers! “There’s no place like home, there’s no place like home, there’s no place like home”

For my 30th birthday this year, my future mother in law, Trish bought me the most awesome 70th Anniversary Ultimate Collectors Edition of the Wizard of Oz on Blu Ray! I cried. It was such an awesome gift! She’s going to be the BEST Mom in Law!!! How’d I get so lucky?  It  came with all the bells and whistles:

  • Limited-edition 70th-anniversary watch
  • Original 1939 campaign book reproduction
  • Behind the Curtain of Production 1060: 52-page commemorative book
  • Replica of original movie budget
  • All-new singalong feature
  • Extras featuring the life and times of original author L. Frank Baum and early-screen adaptations of the Oz books, the original Baum silent The Patchwork Girl of Oz, and the complete The Magic Cloak of Oz
  • Nearly four hours of extras new to this collection, including a documentary profile of director Victor Fleming, the TV movie special The Dreamer of Oz, and the 2007 Hollywood Walk of Fame salute to the Munchkins
  • MGM: When the Lion Roars bonus movie (standard DVD)

I found it on sale at Amazon.

Last year’s birthday was in New York with Tommy and my best friend and her boyfriend. We got tickets to see Wicked on Broadway and I absolutely LOVED it! If you’re not familiar with Wicked, it’s the story before the popular Wizard of Oz Story that you probably already know.  Did you know the Wicked Witch of the West’s name is Elphaba, and that she was really a sweet girl?  And the Good Witch, Galinda was actually a little snot?  Well in Wicked you learn about how the two were friends in the past and of their competitive nature. You learn how it was just like high school for some of us growing up, the boys, the friendships, the popular crowd, the outcast, the love and heartbreak… it’s all here in the Broadway show.  For those if us who loved the classic Wizard of Oz, the Wicked musical has a lot of references to the characters and themes of the classic movie.  I had to buy the CD too because the songs were amazing! Some of my favorite songs were: “Defying Gravity”,  “For Good”, and “Popular”.  Every once in a while, I like to pop in my CD and listen to the songs… when I’m at home, I’m usually belting out all the songs… (poor Tommy and Marley). It always puts me in a great mood!
Wicked is touring!!! If you haven’t seen it, you should! It’s great for the minnies too. See if it’s playing near you: Wicked on Tour

I’ve embedded a widget so you could get a preview of the songs:  Enjoy!!!
http://ws.amazon.com/widgets/q?ServiceVersion=20070822&MarketPlace=US&ID=V20070822%2FUS%2Fwidgetsamazon-20%2F8014%2Fad857a6c-e6fa-442c-84eb-9244c347b734&Operation=GetDisplayTemplate <A HREF=”http://ws.amazon.com/widgets/q?ServiceVersion=20070822&MarketPlace=US&ID=V20070822%2FUS%2Fwidgetsamazon-20%2F8014%2Fad857a6c-e6fa-442c-84eb-9244c347b734&Operation=NoScript”>Amazon.com Widgets</A>

Are there any other fellow Wicked fans? Anyone going to go see Wicked?
Hope everyone has a great weekend!! We’re off to celebrate Tommy’s cousin getting into George Mason University and his birthday this weekend. Should be a great, fun-filled weekend! 🙂
XOXO- Vy