It is so refreshing to see the sun and feel the warmth of Spring… well at least over this past weekend. (Today it’s raining and the sun peeps out from time to time, teasing us) It’s so nice to be able to walk outside sans jacket or heavy winter coat. In fact, being the shoe-a-holic that I am, I’ve already started to pull out my peep toes and flip flops! I know it’s probably a little early for the flip flops, but being a beach girl, it’s NEVER too early for flip flops!! It just makes me get even more excited for summer and beach weather!  Oh to take my shoes off and let my toes sink into the sand… “Dear beach, I shall be at your shore side soon enough.”
It’s been in the upper 60s/ low 70s here in Northern Virginia. Tommy and I took our dog, Marley, for a nice stroll around the neighborhood. As we’re walking and talking about our future, we turn a corner to see a tree starting to bloom. Of course being the picture taker I am, I had to get a shot of it. It just makes me happy to know that it’s Spring!!! 🙂
One of the fun things about Spring and Northern Virginia is the annual Cherry Blossom festival celebrating the beauty of the cherry blossoms surrounding the Tidal Basin.  The cherry blossoms were given to the US from Japan as a gift and celebrates the friendship between the US and Japan.  I haven’t been to the festival in a few years, but this year I’m definitely going to make plans to attend.  If you’re around the area between March 27, 2010 and April 11, 2010, be sure to stop and see the cherry blossoms! I love them because they are beautiful and pink!!! The opening ceremonies are Saturday, March 27th at the National Building Museum in DC.  There will be all kinds of festivities Japanese inspired. There’s also a parade on Saturday, April 10th at 10:00 AM. You can find more information about the festivities and events here.  While you’re in the area there’s tons of other things to do and see… you’ve got a bunch of Smithsonian Museums, Restaurants of just about every cuisine and price, and lots of shopping.  C’mon out and see the sights and festivities, maybe I’ll see you there!

XOXO- Vynuss