Happy Fat Tuesday to everyone!!! 🙂 
I was a very lucky and surprised girl this past weekend.  As you’ve read in my previous post, this past weekend was the first weekend Tommy and I were home for an entire weekend.  We’d planned to go register at Bed Bath and Beyond for our wedding on Saturday, but I awoke on (late) morning around 10:30 feeling sick. So he talked me into staying at home and resting up.  I slept until about 2:30PM and  went to the grocery store. We’d talked about going to Honey Pig in Annandale, VA for Valentine’s dinner, followed by the Mardi Gras Madness at the State Theater. Honey Pig is a Korean BBQ place that we’d gone to once before and we both liked it and decided to go back.  The State Theater in Falls Church, VA is where bands come to play. This night they had Crowded Streets (Dave Matthews Cover band) and Gonzo’s Nose (80s/90s cover band).  Well, when we got to the restaurant, and I checked us in for 2 people under my name.  It was going to be a 10-15 minute wait. Tommy was on the phone walking around, not answering my, “Who are you talking to?” and “What are you doing?” questions. He finally said, “Maybe [our friends] Brendan and Susan might meet us here; I think they might already be here. Wait here, I’ll check”.  He walks to the back of the restaurant and motions for me to come.  When I turn the corner to our table, I’m greeted by a whole slew of my friends all decked out in mardi gras beads and masks!!! SURPRISE & HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!! I just about cried! Just earlier this week, I had cried to Tommy about how we didn’t have anything planned for my big 30th birthday, and how it was getting too late to plan anything.  He and my cousin Krystal had been planning this for weeks, if not months… ever since I had mentioned something about a Mardi Gras themed birthday party.  It really was a great time! I really didn’t expect it.  I am so lucky to have such great friends (Vesna, Ken, Brendon, Susan, Mike, Sarah, JoJo, Jamie, and of course the planners: Tommy and Krystal) to come out on a night they could do a Valentine’s celebration, yet instead, spend it with me.  After dinner, we went to the State Theater and had a blast dancing the night away, and having a few drinks. Both bands were awesome!!! Crowded Streets were just amazing and sounded just like DMB.  Gonzo’s Nose was a great party band. They played all kinds of great songs and are very talented! The energy in the theater was pumping.  I had maybe one too many hurricanes, but they were just so good!!!  I definitely paid for it the next day.  One thing about getting older… you definitely don’t bounce back and recover quickly from a night out.  In fact, it took me a good day and a half.  I never knew what was in a hurricane, but looked it up.  All I can say is “WOW”.  If only I knew it had 151 in it!!! I’m more of a 2-3 drink girl.  5+ was a lot harder to recover from.  For those of you who may want to make yourself one for Mardi Gras: (don’t say I didn’t warn ya!!!)
Hurricane Drink Recipe
(www.drinksmixer.com)
 

Pour all but the juices, in order listed, into a hurricane glass three-quarters filled with ice. Fill with equal parts of grapefruit and pineapple juice, and serve.
Laissez les bon temps rouler!!!
XOXO- Vynuss