Just the other day, Tommy asked me if I could move my perfume from the bathroom because it had completely taken over the bathroom cabinet. Apparently, he was pulling something out of the cabinet and stuff just started to fall out onto the counter. I guess those mirrored doors with the shelves behind it are really for medicine and frequently used bathroom items. Who knew??
So I gathered up all my perfume bottles and migrated them to the bedroom. I couldn’t put them on my dresser, which would be ideal because I have a TV, DVD player, and my AppleTV on the dresser. Think “electronics= heat source” and heat is not good for perfume. So I moved them to my nightstand shelf. All 13 bottles. Yes, that’s right, I said 13. And that’s not to mention some of the smaller bottles of perfume I have in a little storage box. So, I probably have near 20 bottles of perfume! Who does that? I wouldn’t even know how long it would take to use up all the 13 full sized bottles. Oh and if we’re counting smelly stuff, I even have the Victoria’s Secret and Bath and Body works body sprays!!! That’s a lot of smelly stuff! I was kind of shocked when I looked at the bottles all lined up together. It really didn’t look like much when
I decided that maybe I should purge some of my perfumes. I mean how long can perfume really last and still smell good? There has to be a statute of limitations. I mean I even have the old-school-everyone-had Exclamation from the Early 90s. I looked it up: it actually came out in ’88!!! So who knows how long I’ve had that!!! I can’t even tell you the last time I used it.

So I Googled “How long can perfume last?” The answer across numerous sites: it can be last between 3 to 5 years depending on how it’s stored. Some more expensive ones can last a little longer. Hummmm well, that eliminates over half of the perfumes I currently have! As a lot of them are a few years old. Goodness!! Time for an early spring cleaning.
There is one bottle I know I won’t be able to dispose of. It’s my White Diamond by Elizabeth Taylor. I know you can find it anywhere, but this bottle is special. It’s the perfume my aunt Connie used to wear. It’s also the last gift I think she gave me. She passed away from breast cancer in 2001. It was her signature perfume. She LOVED it. I’m sure she had like 10 bottles on hand!  Come to think of it, she always did have a lot of perfumes… Maybe that’s where I got my perfume-love from.

Other things I found out about perfume in my search:

  • Perfume, if properly stored, can last for three to five years. To guarantee this life span, store your bottles in a cool, dry place away from direct sunlight.
  • Spoiled perfume -Perfumes that have overstayed their welcome will have darkened in color and smell of alcohol. The scent will smell rancid once applied to the skin but will fade quickly. That’s when it’s time to toss it in the garbage.
  • Solid perfumes which come in sticks or pots that is rubbed on the wrists and neck are a long-lasting fragrance and a good alternative for perfume lovers like me that keep them for a long time.

Anyone else have a perfume addiction?? Or any really good smelling perfumes I should try?? What’s your favorite perfume?

<3- Vynuss