Oh no!! The BIG 3-OH!!!

It’s now the 1 month countdown to my 30th birthday! Lately, it seems that all my friends around me is turning 30, so it’s definitely hard to ignore that I too am turning 30 this year.  In fact Tommy and I just got back from Poquoson celebrating Joey’s 30th birthday! It was only a couple years back that I was dreading turning 30. Today, I’m actually excited to turn 30. I’m excited to leave my 20s in the past! Oh the things you learn and experience in your 20s!!! I truly believe the 20s are when you try to figure out who you are and what you want. My 20s were spent wasted on stupid men boys. I followed boys around, and neglected ME, and what I really wanted in life. I sacrificed my happiness and my pursuits. I listened to people telling me “No” and not believing in “Yes”.

Now, I’m just about to hit 30, and I’m more confident in my life. I’ve got a honest to goodness fiancé who loves me to death. He’s wonderful and has really changed me, whether or not he even knows it. He’s made me realize that I SHOULD be treated well. That I can love AND be loved. That I CAN do whatever it is I think I can do. He supports me in so much of my “Eh, it’s nothing” hobbies and thoughts. It’s such a great feeling. It’s great to know that someone, the someone I am going to spend the rest of my life with, loves and supports me.

I’m just feeling so very blessed for all the wonderful things that are happening in my life.  I may not have a ton of friends, but the ones I do have now are less likely to let me down.  I’ve learned to surround myself with more positive people and those that are good for my well being.  I don’t have the time or energy to exert on Negative Nellies or Debbie Downers.  True friends, I’ve learned are those that are honest with you and themselves, and are there for you as much as you are for them.  It’s a two way street. I look at my life even just a year ago and see a difference.  One thing I’ve also learned in my late 20s is that everyone isn’t going to react the same way that I would react.  I can’t always expect everyone to always do what I would do.  People will disappoint you, but YOU get to choose how to react to that disappointment.  You can’t make people feel a certain way;  It’s ultimately their choice how they react to you.  There are friends that I care and worry about, and I hope that they are doing well, but exerting energy to worry about them when they aren’t honest with me is exhausting.  So, they know me and know that I’d be there for them, it’s up to them.  


I look back at the things I’ve not accomplished and it’s disappointing.  Like not finishing school when I should have.  Like gaining weight.  Like not buying a house.  But why dwell in the past.  It’s about looking into the future and the things I HAVE accomplished.  I’ve gone back to school, in process of getting my degree.  I’m working on losing weight.  I’m getting married this year, to the love of my life!! 🙂  I’ve regained who I am.  I’ve traveled the world in the past few years.  There’s a ton of things I HAVE accomplished that I’m happy about. And there’s more that I can continue to accomplish…
I’m ready for the next chapter!!!! C’mon 30s!!!! 🙂