Just the other day, I had to go to Target to buy a birthday gift for Tommy’s little cousin, Keenan. She turns 2 on the 18th! I already had in mind what I was going to get her- anything pink and with princesses! After all, what girl wouldn’t want princesses or want to be a princess? I know I did!! So as I browse the aisles of kiddie toys, I realize that there are so many new toys! I walked down an aisle and had a toy cat meow at me as I walked by. Scared the crap out of me! I take a closer look at it and it says try me! Pet me! So curious, I stuck my hand in the little plastic hole to pet the cat behind its ear. It moved and pushed against my hand like a real cat and purred too!!! How freaking crazy! I was amazed! I look at the price tag and see it’s only $49.99. wow! I wonder if it transmits info back to DHS too! Haha just kidding… A little.
So I continue my search for princeses and find the coolest thing for a 2 year old. It’s a Disney Princess play tent! How cool would it be for Keenan to get all dressed up in her princess gear and play princess in her own little castle? I wish I had one!!! 🙂 I think it said for kids 3 and up, oh well! She loved it!


As I was leaving I saw in the corner of my eye a section of toys dedicated to nogstalgia. It was there that I was transported back to my childhood when I would play with some of these simplier toys. These toys didn’t have conversations with you or had all the flashy lights that today’s toys have. I think the most annoying, but funnest toy i had was the little popcorn push popper. It was a hard plastic bubble with little primary colored balls that popped up as you pushed it. It wasn’t until I was a little older that i realized how annoying it really was when my then baby brother played with the popper. There was also the infamous jack in the box. I took it down from the shelf and wound the crank to have the jack pop out and scare the crap out of me for the second time that day!! I don’t know how kids then and now even like that thing! It was scary then and still is now! There was also the toy TV that played London Bridge is Falling Down and Row, Row, Row Your Boat as the scenery moved across the screen. I think that was one of my favorites as a kid. I think the toys we had as kids forced us to use our imagination. We were happy with the simple toys and made up our own games. I rekon that if I had gotten one of those toys for a kid today, it may not appeal to them than if I had gotten them a noisy flashy toy.
At least with little Keenan’s new Disney Princess castle, she can use her imagination and pretend and be a little princess in her own little kingdom. 🙂 That makes me happy.